Constitutional lawyers ᐈ Arnos Law Firm


ENRUGR Call us constitutional-law-shape1-1-1



Constitutional Law

The Constitution of Cyprus was the outcome of the Zurich agreement between Great Britain, Greece and Turkey which was signed in 1959 and provided between other, for the Independence of the Republic of Cyprus. The Constitution was ratified on the 16th of August 1960.

The doctrine of separation of powers is entrenched in the Constitution which makes a clear distinction between the three Powers of the State these are the Legislative Power the Executive Power and the Judiciary. The doctrine of separation of powers stipulates that each of the three powers of the State operates within its own sphere of competence without intervening in the sphere of the other two.

Executive Power is exercised by the President of Cyprus and the Vice President (not active) and the Council of Ministers. Legislative Power is exercised by the House of Representatives and the Judicial Power is exercised by the Supreme Court of Cyprus and the First Instance Courts.

Also Part II of the Constitution is wholly devoted to the provisions safeguarding the fundamental rights and freedoms, as some have been specified and ratified in the Rome Agreement and the Convention for the Protection of Human Rights and Fundamental Freedoms, which the Republic of Cyprus ratified by law in 1962.

Under Constitutional law, individuals can take legal actions against the Government and its departments for violation of human rights and also actions against the Executive Power when the exercise of their power is violating the rules and procedures of the Republic.